Book Review – “Who Do You Think You Are?” by Mark Driscoll

23I’ve always held to the premise that the primary focus of life isn’t about “who you are,” but “whose you are,” and when we come to the understanding about the second the first comes into focus!

For that reason when I first received notification that Mark Driscoll’s new book was about to be released I decided to read it for myself. I’ve read, or think I’ve read every book/article the man has ever written, and though I’ve had disagreements with him in the past, sometimes extremely intense disagreements I always read anything he writes. He’s an astute observer of people, and the culture in which we live, and if for no other reason than that, what he writes is worth the time.  He’s always been one that makes me “think,” and even though I disagree with him on many things, I’ve always appreciated him for that.

The book, as with many that have come before, and undoubtedly like many that will come after, seeks to help believers discover who they are in Christ. No one would argue that such an undertaking is a daunting task, because most people, even the most committed of Christians, struggle to grasp who they are in Christ. This book is one that the reader would do well to read with an open Bible. The flow and outline of the book are tied to one of the most exciting and engaging of Paul’s epistles; Ephesians!  Though not directly a “theological” work, this book does offer the reader a good dose of theology intermingled with numerous real life stories of people who have had to overcome intense obstacles to in discovering their identity in Christ. These stories do well at revealing the power of Jesus Christ in radically transforming a person’s life, not taking them from “bad to good,” but from “dead to alive.” In fact the stories far outweigh the theology in their effectiveness.

If I have any criticism of this book, outside of my standard theological disagreements with Driscoll’s Calvinism or New Calvinism, or whatever it’s being labeled this week, it’s that it suffers from what many books of this nature suffer from… disjointed flow. It’s pretty obvious to anyone, or at least anyone who’s a preacher that this book is based off a series of sermons, which in and of itself isn’t a problem. The problem arises when content isn’t edited to fit the format of a book. Each chapter in this book could stand alone as an individual piece. The book would have been better if the editors would have taken the time to effectively format the text so that the information presented wasn’t needlessly repeated.  This issue is systemic in the world of Christian publication, and it’s hopefully one that is addressed in due time… Hint, Hint to Thomas Nelson!

Because of his theological position, I wouldn’t recommend this book to a new believer. But for someone who is well grounded in the faith, even if you’re not a fan of Driscoll, I would suggest that you take time to read this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their “booksneeze program.” I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions and views expressed here are my own.

I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

Leave a Reply

