Five Lies Leaders Believe

In a recent blog post, pastor and author Perry Noble shared his thoughts on the lies leaders tend to tell themselves:

1. “God made me aware of this situation so that I could pray about it.” Noble warns church leaders against using prayer as an excuse for inactivity on an issue. When God gives us the gift of leadership and then makes us aware of an issue, He expects us to lead through it! He says, “When we pray, we should be ready to act in accordance with what we are praying for.”

2. “I must have all the answers.” “The leader who believes this will stress himself out and allow worry (or pride) to dominate his life.” Noble confesses that he often doesn’t have the answers himself, a situation that can lead to the next lie…

3. “I can’t ask anyone for help because it will make me look weak.” Noble says the opposite is true: “Operating on your own power and constantly making stupid decisions is actually what makes a leader look weak!” He encourages people to ask for help from the people God intentionally put in their lives; they will respect you more for asking and are much more likely to agree with a decision after given an opportunity to provide input into it.

4. “I cannot slow down.” Noble warns leaders against doing so much ministry that they have no time to actually “walk with Him.” He gives an example of some pointed advice given to him by a counselor friend: “In the Bible, God calls those who will not work ‘lazy,’ but He calls those who will not rest ‘disobedient.’”

5. “The longer I do this, the easier it will become.” Noble reflects, “I used to think there would be a day where I would be able to make leadership decisions without any type of struggle…I would one day get past my insecurities…I would not lay awake at night wrestling with decisions…I was wrong.” But Noble says it has helped him stay focused and humble: “We are not as good as we think we are, and God is way better than we could have ever imagined!”

From a blog post by Perry Noble, “Five Lies Leaders Believe,” PerryNoble.com

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

Leave a Reply

