5 Reasons Pastor’s Should Blog

As a Pastor I’ve been blogging for about two and a half years now, and it’s been an experience that has both blessed me and tried me all at the same time. Most of my thoughts that I have posted have been well received, as have the thoughts of others that I have shared. When I say most I do mean most. There are times that I’ve been the recipient of unkind words concerning what I’ve shared, mostly on topics that would be called politically incorrect. In my walk with God, I have determined that in what I say and how I live I will strive to be scripturally correct and if Scripture happens to conflict with our present societal norms then those norms lose. I’ve been asked on occasion why I blog? My primary response is that I want to use it as a tool to help others, especially in the congregation I’ve been called to serve, to deepen their understanding of God, and to understand me and views on life and ministry better. I view blogging not as some time filler, but a ministry tool. This morning I received an email concerning ministers and blogging. Instead of retelling what was said, I’ll let you read it for yourself.

 _________________________________________________________________________________________

FIVE REASONS PASTORS SHOULD BLOG by Pete Wilson   

I often get asked, “Why do you blog?” I think this is a fair question, even if there is an underlying assumption that it’s a waste of time. While I obviously don’t think blogging is for every pastor I do think it can be a valuable tool for many.

My time is more limited today than ever before. Between pastoring, being a husband and dad, establishing a growing relationship with Christ and writing a book, I have to be pretty selective on what activities I engage in and what activities I pass up. Here are five reasons I choose to invest a portion of my time in blogging. And while I’m directing this at pastors I think these reasons can apply to all of us who consider ourselves Christ followers.

1) We can change the world.

This is something I learned last year when I went on a blogging trip with the Compassion bloggers. Thousands of people around the world followed our eight day journey to India in real-time and hundreds of children were sponsored and rescued from poverty. Just a couple months ago I watched my friend John Acuff raise $60,000 on his blog to build two kindergarten’s in Vietnam. I’m praying we see more and more influential bloggers using their platform and influence to bring hope to the hopeless.

2) We can encourage other believers.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 tells us to “encourage one another daily.” I’m always looking for ways to use WithoutWax to bring a smile to someone’s face and at the very least just take their mind off of whatever they might be dealing with. Here’s a great email I got a while back from a reader.

3) We can create community.

I’m tired of being a talking head. The last thing I want is just another platform where I’m talking. Blogs allow us to turn our sermons into conversations allowing people to interact, question, discuss and debate.  I so value the conversations that take place here in the comments every day.

4) We can establish relational influence.

People no longer want to follow you or me just because we have pastor in front of our name. As a matter of fact, this automatically puts us at a disadvantage. They want to know if we’re authentic. I am learning that influence is directly related to relationship. In other words no relationship, no influence.

In the future church leaders will have to exchange control for collaboration, individualism for community and affluence for influence.

5) We can show the world the origin of our hope.

Matthew 5:14 says, “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden” (and neither can a blog).  While I love writing about my family, my church and all the other crazy and sometimes stupid things that happen in my life, ultimately I pray that people see the light of Christ through my life and post.

Another interesting blog post about pastors blogging from John Pipers site Desiring God can be found here.

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

3 responses to “5 Reasons Pastor’s Should Blog”

  1. draxwilliams says :

    Great post, Thank you for sharing

  2. Pastor Gil Burgos says :

    For privacy reasons, can you please remove the above comment, as well as, this one. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

