Book Review: “Everyday Greatness” by Stephen R. Covey

“Nothing is more liberating than to fight for a cause larger than yourself, something that encompasses you but is not defined by your existence alone”

John S. McCain “Faith of My Fathers”

(I begin with this because it’s my favorite quote from the book)

 

I must admit that that title of this book, “Everyday Greatness” immediately caught my attention. This because I am the type of person that believes that greatness in life doesn’t come from our occasional mountaintop experiences but from living our lives on a day-to-day basis in the valleys and meadows that come in-between.  The “things that come in the “in-between” time” would be a good way to describe this book.  

While Stephen Covey gets the author credit for this work, the bulk of the provided information isn’t his work at all, but rather a well conceived compilation of other writers with him providing his own insight. This compilation of stories and quotes was well laid out, which makes for easy reading. Each of the books seven chapters is refined down to three primary principles. Here’s a snapshot of what the reader can expect;   

  1. Searching for Meaning: Contribution; Charity; Attention
  2. Taking Charge: Responsibility; Courage; Discipline
  3. Starting Within: Integrity; Humility; Gratitude
  4. Creating the Dream: Vision; Innovation; Quality
  5. Teaming with Others: Respect; Empathy; Unity
  6. Overcoming Adversity: Adaptability; Magnanimity; Perseverance
  7. Blending the Pieces: Balance; Simplicity; Renewal

Though complied by David K. Hatch, its Covey who contributes the insights, commentary and provides guided reflections throughout each chapter, these reflections are given to the reader to  help the individual consider how they may  embody that given principle in their own life.

Though I toughly enjoyed the book, I must say that it isn’t a book that one just sits down to read. It took me nearly a month to get through it all. Coming from the pens of man, the information and encouragement presented is of the highest quality. One of the reasons that I took me so long to get through it was the time I took to try to find the essence of what each individual quoted was trying to present to the original audience. It was a pleasurable experience indeed.  

This book would serve as a great reference for any library, because of the index of story titles and quotation authors.  The “afterword” section at the end of the book was another aspect I found to be especially helpful, as it gives ways the reader can put the presented principles into practice. This book is one that I would highly recommend to others. If you’re from our church family, you are free to borrow this book from me. Just let me know and I’ll get it to you.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers for the review copy of this book.

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

Leave a Reply

