Questions Week 2; The Bible In 90 Days

Bible in 90This is the first question that I have received concerning the reading for the second week. If there are other questions concerning the current reading feel free to pass them on. jim@m4conline.org.   

{The Wave Offering}

A “wave” offering is exactly what it may appear to be. An offering placed in the hand of the priest and waved before the Lord.

This ceremony was a common ritual in Israel and typically focused on the grain harvest, though there were some “wave” offerings that included sacrificial animals. Instruction’s for the ceremony where grain is used is detailed for us in Leviticus 23:10-14. No one was to eat any of the grain of the harvest until the first sheaf of the harvest was brought to the priest, who in turn waved it before God. The wave offerings are intertwined through all aspects of Jewish life and culture.

What the “wave” offering consisted of…

  • The fat and right shoulder, of the priest’s consecration-ram (Exodus 29:22-23)
  • The breast of the priest’s consecration-ram (Exodus 29:26 & Leviticus 8:29 )
  • The breast of all peace-offerings (Leviticus 7:30 & 9:21)
  • Left shoulder, of Nazarite’s peace-offering (Numbers 6:17 & 6:19)
  • The first fruits of barely harvest (Leviticus 23:10-11)  
  • The first fruits of wheaten bread (Leviticus 23:20)
  • The jealousy offering (Numbers 5:25)
  • The leper’s trespass offering (Leviticus 14:12 & 14:24)
  • The fat of the consecration-ram burnt on the altar (Exodus 29:25 & Leviticus 8:28)
  • Was given to the priest as his due (Exodus 29:26-28; Leviticus 7:31; 8:29; 10:15;Numbers 18:11)
  • Was to be eaten in a holy place by the priest’s family (Leviticus 10:14)

“Wave” offerings often centered on the first “first fruits” of the grain harvest. We see this idea carry over into the New Testament. Thousands of years after the law was given, we find the term “first fruits” used to describe Jesus

“But now Christ is risen from the dead, and has become the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep” (1st Corinthians 15:20)

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

3 responses to “Questions Week 2; The Bible In 90 Days”

  1. pastor says :

    I was really enjoying the beginning of the message until the focus shifted from God to you making an effort to secretly spread hate.

    First let me say that mr Obama is not pharoah and we are not the children of Isreal. Times change my brother. There is no more sacrifice to be burnt, Jesus came or havent you heard?
    To teach the bible for your personal gain intentionally is not something God looks kindly upon. You should be ashamed.

    Believe it or not The battle is really the Lords. Yes He is quite able to deliver His people from all the pharoahs of this world just like He did back in those days. There were no preachers back then either doing what you are attempting to do. People actually had a relationship with God. Today God is excluded from everything .. why arent you writing about that?
    The only part of your message that made any sense was the scripture. Check your attitude sir. Your poison I mean message is coming through the seems (It screams hate)

    Medicare is something everyone should have. what about the need to help a brother out. The poor needs help. Jesus was always about helping the poor and the sick. Jesus took the five loaves and the two fishes from a young boy and fed thousands who had nothing. Imagine what would have happened if he had ignored the need … the peoples hunger and refused to share it because some had more than others to contribute.

    Pray for your government ask God to show him how to be a leader. Lets not forget God still answers prayers,

  2. Jim says :

    Pastor,

    I personally don’t know who you are but I must say that I am quite disappointed by your opening statement that I am “secretly” spreading hate. To call someone a bigot, racist, or hatemonger without knowing them personally is not only pretentious on your part, but also completely disgraceful. Though this work is not something that I personally wrote, I do believe that there are parallels between the Genesis story and our current political situation. I don’t believe that Obama is the “pharaoh” or the “messiah” as some are calling him, but I do believe that many in our government, (both democrat and republican) which is currently being led by Mr. Obama, is treating our nation much like Pharaoh treated those from the story. We have a government where many in power want the citizens of this nation to have to solely rely on the government for their survival, instead of God.

    I agree with your statement “To teach the bible for your personal gain intentionally is not something God looks kindly upon.” But for you to insinuate that this is something that I engage in is completely without excuse. You don’t know me, and therefore have neither place nor right to comment on my actions as a Pastor. However I must ask you to do something for me… please explain to me how I am teaching the bible for my own gain? What ill-gotten gains am I reaping from voicing my desire not to be a slave to the government? You also asked me why I’m not teaching about God being missing in our world today. Well the fact is I do that very thing on a weekly basis, but then again if you knew me, you would know that already. If pointing out how the government is mistreating the people of our nation, not to mention enslaving our grandchildren to a life of debt is an act of spreading hate…. I fail to see how. You may not see nor agree with the parallels presented in the sermon, but to sling the kind of accusations at me because I do see the parallels greatly confuses me. The name listed on your reply is “pastor” if you are indeed a pastor… what possesses you to treat a fellow pastor and brother in Christ with such bitter vile?

    I am all for helping out those who are in need, but it’s my place to help where I can and where I’ve purposed in my heart (by the leading of the Spirit) to do so. As the church we’ve failed to do what we have been called to do in scripture. In scripture we are called to help those in need (as Jesus did with the loaves and the fish) but unfortunately we (the church) have abdicated our calling and have wrongly passed that task to our government. If the church would do what it should be doing, you and I probably wouldn’t be having this discussion right now. It should also be pointed out that the boy freely gave his lunch, gave it out of his own desire to help…. Jesus didn’t forcibly take it from him. If the government can aid a situation where help is needed (such as Medicare/ healthcare/education or whatever the need may be… then they should do so, but not by forcibly taking from other people… some of whom can’t afford it.

    I pray on a daily basis for not only our President, but for all those in positions of leadership in our nation. I pray that they would seek out God and act in a way that would bring glory to God and blessings to those they have been entrusted to lead. And your right… God does still answer prayer! And my prayers for our nation and our government will constantly flow as long as God grants me life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Resources for Leviticus 23:10 - 11 - February 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

