Book Review – “Nelson’s Biblical Cyclopedic Index”

I love books! Some would even consider me to be somewhat of a “bibliophile,” which means “lover of books.” For more than a year now I’ve been writing book reviews for Thomas Nelson Publishers, through their “booksneeze” program. This experience has been quite an enjoyable experience for me, and my latest read was just as enjoyable, though being a reference book it’s not one that one would simply sit down and read cover to cover, though being a person who used to read encyclopedias I was tempted to do just that… so here’s the 411 on the book…

With more listings than any other Bible resource available, the Biblical Cyclopedic Index helps readers quickly pull together a thorough and comprehensive Bible study, lesson, or sermon. Completely unique, The Biblical Cyclopedic Index combines the features of a concordance, a topical Bible, and a Bible dictionary. It is a special kind of subject index that combines the best features of a concordance and a topical index.” 

These are the words that the publisher uses to describe the new edition of Nelson’s Biblical Cyclopedic Index, and it’s a description that I fully agree with. Being a pastor I have many reference volumes in my library and some of them I use on a weekly basis (Strong’s, TDNT, etc.) and this volume has found a home among them.

There are several features that I very much like about this little volume, including but not limited to… compact, lightweight, in-depth, and clear legible text. I was also impressed by the occasional word studies that were presented.  The information from the word studies is the type which is offered in the book, and it’s a simple format that everyone, from pastor to layman could duplicate on any number of biblical topics.

Here’s an example of the layout of the book…

FAITHFULNESS OF GOD

A. Described as:

Everlasting……………..Ps. 119:90

Established……………….Ps. 89:2

Unfailing………………..Ps. 89:33

Infinite…………………..Ps.36:5

Great……………………Lam. 3:23

Incomparable……………….Ps.89:8

B. Manifested in:

Counsels………………….Is. 25:1

Covenant-keeping………….Deut. 7:9

Forgiving sins…………..1 John 1:9

Testimonies…………….Ps. 119:138

Judgments………………Jer. 51:29

Promises……………….1 Kin. 8:20

This index is a book that I would now consider a must have for all who are committed readers of the Bible. As a Pastor I wish I would have had one when I first started preaching, for it would have saved me a lot of time. Overall, this is an excellent resource, though I’ll still be holding onto my traditional concordances. It would also make a great gift for someone just getting introduced to reading the Bible.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their “booksneeze program.” I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions and views expressed here are my own.

I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Jim

I'm currently the Communications Director for Missouri Operation for Vigorous Evangelism [MOVE] A Church planting ministry located in Jefferson City, MO. I believe that the church is the primary means through which God works in a community to love and redeem it. Here at MOVE we’re discovering new ways to be used for this purpose as God leads us and lights His path for us. As God forms this organization and shapes it for a new kind of world I want to be right in the middle of what He’s doing, traveling on this road of a disciple’s journey.

One response to “Book Review – “Nelson’s Biblical Cyclopedic Index””

  1. Kyle Cheng says :

    It is definitely an awesome book =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

